21 US States Are Suing Department Of Labor To Block Implementation Of Overtime Pay Law


An alliance of 21 states is suing the United States Department of Labor for a new rule with which Labor would get a higher payout and stated that the overtime workers are eligible for this rule.

Nevada Attorney General Adam Laxalt Filed a lawsuit in Texas on Tuesday and the lawsuit points the court to block implementation before the regulation takes effect on Dec. 1. As under the rule, the employer must repeal “white collar exemption” along with more than double of salary threshold with which an employee would get paid for his overtime too.


Laxalt commented that the rule may be a burden for the private and public sector but this will depict inappropriate federal overreach. Also, the officials of Labor department didn’t respond immediately to the requests or comments.

The 21 complainants are Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Georgia, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Nebraska, New Mexico, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Texas, Utah and Wisconsin.

Further updates will get updates soon. And it is still awaited that when the appeal will come under the focus of U.S. Department of Labor. From one side it seems like the rule must be there and from another side, second thoughts get unfold that what effects of this are making employers troubled.

Around the web