AAJ Tak Live News: ‪‪Ghoradongri‬ by-poll results 2016

The counting for by-election in Ghoradongri assembly constituency in Betul district, MP is on. BJP and Congress are the biggest fighters here.

A total of seven candidates are up for the seat including Mangal Singh Dhurve from BJP and Pratap Singh Uikey from Congress.

Other candidates include Dr. Pawan Singh Dhurve from Gondwana Ganatantra Party, Barati Lal Uikey from Bahujan Mukti Party and three independent candidates Kishanlal Baraskar, Rajesh Siyaram and Sukh Lal Dhurve.

After the demise of Sajjan Singh Uikey, the by-election was necessitated. The MLA had been ailing from diabetes and heart-related diseases and was being treated at the Medanta hospital in Gurgaon.

From a population of 2,19,404 voters, the turnout registered on May 30 was 71.48%. Among the total no. of voters were 1,12,313 men, 1,07,083 women. Seventeen rounds of counting are to be held on 21 tables.

Watch AAJ-Tak live news:

Earlier due to issues on development especially in road construction, the villagers or Jamitha had boycotted the election.

The recent rural development in the state has reportedly been stagnant and has seen no uphill. However, later on, they did take part in it.

The counting is still on and the result is to be announced soon. Before the demise of the previous minister, the constituency belonged to BJP and now Congress seem just as likely to win it, to add to their humble number of constituencies remaining.

Around the web